CARDIFF City midfielder Peter Whittingham's goal against Barnsley has made the final shortlist for Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2012.

Whittingham's stunning long distance volley on March 13, 2011, was the opening goal in a 2-2 draw for the Bluebirds. The goal is one of five up for the prestigious award run in conjunction with Soccer AM and Mitre.

A Football League panel pulled together the top 10 strikes of last year following submissions from clubs. The 10 contenders for the award were then shown on Soccer AM and viewers' votes decided the final five.

The winner will be announced following a live vote on the night of the Football League Awards on March 11.

The players and clubs in the final shortlist for the Mitre Goal of the Year are:

* Peter Whittingham (v Barnsley), Cardiff City

* Darren Ambrose (v Manchester United), Crystal Palace

* Peter Leven (v Port Vale), Oxford United

* Kári Árnason (v Milton Keynes Dons)Plymouth Argyle

Paul Coutts (v Colchester United), Preston North End

Max Rushden, Soccer AM presenter, said: ''Soccer AM is very proud to again be revealing the top five contenders for the Mitre Goal of the Year award. We know from previous years that the award always ensures five spectacular goals, whether it be a 30-yard screamer or meticulous team build up, and this year it is no different.''