THIS week's From the Archive shows Penarth seafronts iconic Beachcliffe building under construction in 1904.

The building was designed by the well respected architect Frank Speed who had designed other prestigious projects in the town. Originally the block had two private hotels at either end with the Gwalia Cafe on the southern end and Govier’s restaurant on the northern end.

For more than 50 years the Rabaiotti family owned the building which comprised of a series of cafes, restaurants and gift shops.

Thanks to Phillip Dawson and Andrew Coslett for providing this image from the group Images of Bygone Penarth.