HOLIDAYMAKERS travelling to Wales from Portugal and six Greek Islands will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

The requirement comes into force at 4am on Friday, September 4.

Portugal has been added to Wales' quarantine exemption list

Gibraltar and French Polynesia will also be removed from the list of countries exempt from the quarantine restrictions.

Antiparos, Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Paros and Zakynthos are the Greek islands affected.


Zante flight with coronavirus cases full of 'covidiots', says passenger

Cardiff Airport Zante flight passengers covid-19 positive

Welsh holidaymakers urged to follow quarantine rules to stop covid-19 spread

The Welsh Government rules apply to travellers arriving home in Wales - irrespective of which airports they return from

Minister for health and social services, Vaughan Gething said: "I have also considered the clear advice from the Joint Biosecurity Centre (JBC) report that travel from the following countries and territories constitutes a public health risk.

"I have decided to remove mainland Portugal (the Azores and Madeira will remain exempt), Gibraltar, French Polynesia and the Greek islands of Mykonos, Zakynthos, Lesvos, Paros and Antiparos and Crete from the list of exempt countries and territories.

"This action is being taken as a result of a large number of cases of coronavirus have been imported into Wales from tourists returning from the Greek islands, in particular.

"In the last week, there have been more than 20 cases confirmed in passengers on one flight from Zante to Cardiff."