PLANNING permission for a four-storey office block and car park at Stanwell Road, Penarth, has been refused by Glamorgan County Council.

Penarth Council had recommended that the application made by the National Farmers’ Union Mutual Insurance Society Ltd., for premises at 21, 21a, and 23 Stanwell Road, be approved.

But the County Council said that the site is not within an area allocated for office development in the approved town map area have either been allocated or approved for the same purpose.

However, at a meeting of Penarth Development Committee on Tuesday this decision caused concern.

Many members voicing criticism of the County because Penarth was losing Rateable value and employment possibilities and it was decided that the committee should support any appeal which was made.

The county approved, however, an application for the conversion of premises at 28 Stanwell Road and car parking provision.

PENARTH Chamber of Trade is to call for national action to plug “certain loopholes” in planning laws governing the development of supermarkets.

The traders are concerned that they will have to face competition from as many as seven supermarkets in the town if the latest planning applications are approved.

They will now table a resolution at an area meeting of Chambers of Trade, to be held in next month, calling for the laws to be changed.

The Chambers President, Mr Don Howell said: “Under the existing law planning permission is not needed where an applicant wishes to turn a shop into a supermarket.”

At last week’s monthly meeting, held at Penarth R.A.F.A. Club, there was a lengthy discussion about the recent 26 per cent increase in South Wales Electricity Board tariffs.

After a report on the position from Mr Howell, members heard a reply from a representative of the South Wales Electricity Board.

It was finally decided to table a motion calling for an investigation into the way the Central Electricity Generating Board make their charges to the regional boards.

A number of new members were welcomed to the Chamber.

They were Mrs H. Toye, of the Garden Nursery School Cogan; Mr Carroll, Penarth postmaster; Mr Lewis, grocer, Purcell Road; Mr Phillips, Queen’s Café; Mr J. Jones, Lavernock Service Station.