A MAN who led the Senedd’s LGBTQ inclusion programme, a dedicated sergeant, a professor, are among the people named from the Vale of Glamorgan in the New Year Honours list.

Craig Stephenson, former director of engagement at Senedd Cymru is awarded the OBE in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours List 2021 for Services to the Welsh Parliament and Equality.

More News

We're in it Together - support on offer during lockdown

Call for inquiry after floods devastate Vale

Second coronavirus vaccine approved for use in UK

Mr Stephenson, who was born and bred in Barry and now living in Penarth said:

“I’m very proud to have played a part in the development of the Senedd since 1999 and to help make it the inclusive institution is has become.

“Being right at the heart of devolution in Wales and working with a group of committed, enthusiastic staff was a huge privilege.

“We achieved great things together to help cement the Senedd’s reputation as a world class parliament with diversity, fairness and bilingualism rooted in its services and culture.

“I am absolutely delighted to receive the OBE and thank everyone at the Senedd for this honour”.

Mr Stephenson enjoyed a 38-year career in the Welsh Office/Welsh Parliament from 1981 to the end of 2019.

He led the Senedd’s LGBTQ inclusion programme and in 2018, the Senedd became the most LGBT-inclusive employer and top trans employer in the United Kingdom in Stonewall’s Workplace Equality Index.

Sergeant Tim Barrell was awarded the Queen’s Police Medal (QPM) and said he is “surprised and honoured” to have received it.

“I am incredibly proud of being a police officer and I am as passionate about the job and providing a service to the public as I was when I joined over 20 years ago,” he added.

“I am still excited to drive to work wondering what the day will bring.

“Policing is a difficult and challenging role and is all about teamwork and this award is testimony to the fantastic people that I have worked with over the years to provide that service to the communities of South Wales.

“I would also like to thank those that have nominated me for the award”.