TEACHERS in the Vale of Glamorgan have been nominated for top Welsh teaching awards.

Finalists for the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru 2022 have been announced.

Ysgol y Deri teacher Lucy Morgan has been nominated for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School and Julia Adamson at Cadoxton Primary School is up for Pupils’ Award for Best Teacher.

The awards this year will include the Betty Campbell MBE Award for promoting the contributions and perspectives of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic Communities.

This award is new for this year's edition of the awards and will recognise an individual, team or school that has demonstrated an outstanding awareness of the importance of diversity and inclusion in the classroom.

A statue of Betty Campbell was unveiled in Cardiff this year after a long campaign.

Professor Charlotte Williams OBE said: "Diversity is a central and cross cutting theme of the new curriculum.

"This award will encourage schools to think strategically about how they can embed this important dimension within all that they do’

"The launch of this award is a sure sign that the Welsh Government is responding swiftly to the recommendations of the Ministerial report on diversity in the new curriculum."

The minister for education and the Welsh language, Jeremy Miles, said: "The calibre of this year’s nominations has, as ever, been outstanding. They demonstrate the breadth of inspiring education professionals we have here in Wales and it’s important we recognise that.

"We have so much good work promoting the contributions and perspectives of Black, Asian and minority ethnic communities by schools and educators across Wales, and this is recognised by the new Betty Campbell MBE Award.

"I look forward to celebrating these fantastic individuals who go above and beyond for their profession."

The full list of nominees

Headteacher of the Year

  • Meurig Jones, Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw, Pontypool / Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Llangynwyd, Bridgend
  • Kathryn Matthews, Ysgol Gymraeg Cwm Derwen, Caerphilly

Inspirational Use of the Welsh Language

  • Elizabeth Hamlin, Aberdare Town Church in Wales, Aberdare
  • Iona Llyr, Ysgol Maes y Gwendraeth, Llanelli
  • Mari Salisbury, Ysgol Croesi Atti, Flint

Outstanding New Teacher

  • Holly Gordon, Ysgol Bryn Derw ASD Special School, Newport
  • Ifan Tomos Jenkins, Ysgol Uwchradd Glan Clwyd, St. Asaph
  • Danielle Powell, Pantysgallog Primary School, Merthyr Tydfil

Pupil (or Pupils’) Award for Best Teacher

  • Julia Adamson, Cadoxton Primary School, Barry
  • Laura Buffee, Haverfordwest High VC School, Haverfordwest
  • Bethan Howells, Treorchy Comprehensive School, Treorchy

School Business Manager/Bursar

  • Claire Coakley, St Martin’s School, Caerphilly
  • Honora Rowlands, Christ the Word Catholic School, Rhyl
  • Sandra Sant, Hawarden High School, Deeside

Supporting Teachers and Learners

  • Carolyn Platt, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Colwyn Bay
  • Gill Sullivan, Maesteg High School, Maesteg
  • Ysgol Glan Clwyd Support Team, Ysgol Uwchradd Glan Clwyd, St. Asaph

Teacher of the Year in a Primary school

  • Lee Arthur, Llanharan Primary School, Pontyclun
  • Sean Jones, Ysgol Glan Gele, Abergele
  • Charmaine Riley, Radyr Primary School, Radyr

Teacher of the Year in a Secondary school

  • Kate Jones, Ysgol Uwchradd Glan Clwyd, St. Asaph
  • Lucy Morgan, Ysgol y Deri, Penarth
  • Mark Morgan, Pen y Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil

Youth Work in Schools and the Community

  • Nigel Bowie, Local Authority, Vale of Glamorgan
  • Chris Gledhill, Conwy Youth Service, Conwy
  • Christian Williams, Heolddu Comprehensive School, Caerphilly

The Betty Campbell MBE award for promoting the contributions and perspectives of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic Communities’ – new for 2022

  • Llanwern High School, Newport
  • Pembroke Dock Primary School, Pembroke Dock
  • Ysgol Penyffordd, Penyffordd