DINAS Powys Golf Club held their annual awards evening last week and two members dominated.

Lewis Davies and Dale Sullivan picked up a number of trophies including the Presidents prize and Club championship respectively.

Outgoing captain Dr Jonathan Jones presented the silverware to the gents and ladies who had been successful in the summer months.

He praised the commitment and hard work put in by committee and staff to ensure the club was a prominent part of the village and a welcoming venue for golf, leisure and restaurant services.

The new captain for the 2017-18 season has been announced at the recent AGM and that will be Bob Wilson.

The popular Scotsman who in his hey day was a six handicapper and a gritty tight head prop for the rugby club will bring a degree of solidarity and respect for the club.

Still as hungry for success on the course off a 15 handicap he will want to promote Dinas GC in a big way and will command that around the circuit on which he is well known off it.

Other notable winners were Phil Wynne who won a pairs and individual title, Dai Roberts and Roger Davies who has formerly won numerous men's titles has now found success on the mixed pairs circuit collecting two cups with Sian Smith .

Carolyn Jones was ladies golfer of the year with Ann Mahethlaingram and Maxine Hird also featuring prominently in the awards.

Match captain Ian Hearne also deserves praise for his hard work updating scores and handicaps on a weekly basis .