JASON Strange has rung the changes for Wales Under-20s’ Six Nations clash with Ireland on Friday evening (kick-off 7.15pm).

Dragons loosehead Josh Reynolds will make his first start while regional teammates Max Williams and Joe Goodchild get the nod at lock and wing respectively for the clash at Donnybrook.

Taine Basham, who made his senior debut for the Rodney Parade region against the Scarlets at the start of the year, keeps his place at number eight while Dan Babos returns as back-up scrum-half.

Prop Reynolds will come up against his old Newport High School Old Boys teammate James McCarthy, who moved to Munster last summer and impressed with a brace from the wing against Italy last round.

Basham, full-back Cai Evans, centre Callum Carson, scrum-half Harri Morgan, hooker Iestyn Harris and captain and blindside Tommy Reffell are the only players retained from the XV that lost heavily to England in Newcastle a fortnight ago.

Cardiff Blues back rower James Botham is back on the international stage for the first time since last summer’s World Rugby U20 Championship.

“We started the tournament very positively with a good win against Scotland, and while the result was firmly in England's favour in our last outing, we saw enough to be happy about going forward," said Strange.

"There's a very good feeling in the camp, and with players coming in and out of regional rugby, we've been able to rotate the squad quite a lot.

"On Friday night we will have capped 24 new players, which is in keeping with our aim to give opportunities for players to stake a claim leading into this year's World Rugby U20 Championship."

Wales U20 team to face Ireland

15 Cai Evans (Ospreys)

14 Joe Goodchild (Dragons)

13 Callum Carson (Ospreys)

12 Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues)

11 Tommy Rogers (Scarlets)

10 Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues)

9 Harri Morgan (Ospreys)

1 Josh Reynolds (Dragons)

2 Iestyn Harris (Cardiff Blues)

3 Rhys Henry (Ospreys)

4 Owen Lloyd (Cardiff Blues)

5 Max Williams (Dragons)

6 Tommy Reffell (Leicester) (c)

7 James Botham (Cardiff Blues)

8 Taine Basham (Dragons)


16 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues)

17 Dewi Lake (Ospreys)

18 Kemsley Mathias* (Scarlets)

19 Jack Pope (Bridgend)

20 Morgan Morris (Ospreys)

21 Dan Babos (Dragons)

22 Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues)

23 Dafydd Smith* (Cardiff Blues)