A BUSY weekend at Wenvoe Castle Golf Club opened with a large entry into the 75th Anniversary Cup.

As the title suggests the competition was established to mark the 75th Anniversary of the club in 2011 and is now a regular competition with pairs, men or ladies, playing in a 4 ball better ball format.

The winning pair was the recently elected Vice Captain Geoff May who teamed up with George Martin to record the top score with an excellent 44 points.

Runners up were Alex Morgan and Joe Lane who also recorded 44 points but just missed out on count back used to determine the winners. Several members will rue the odd missed putt or wayward drive as there were three other pairs who were so close with 43 points.

Sunday was an equally busy day with the coursed reserved for the Mixed Open and attracted a huge entry of 80 couples from not only clubs in the south Wales region but from far afield as the London area and the south west of England.

The weather was particularly kind and a common theme from both members and visitors was the excellent quality and presentation of the golf course with the greens up to their consistently high standard.

Despite the distances travelled by some players the visitors prize was awarded to two players, Paul and Samantha Edwards from neighbouring Glamorganshire Golf Club who recorded the top score of the day an excellent 39 points.

Runners up were Roger Davies and Sian Smith a Dinas Powis/Wenvoe Castle combination who recorded 37 points.

Phil Yee and Jill Rodgers took the winner’s prize for the best score by a Wenvoe Castle pairing with their 37 points enough to hold off Jeff and Lynda Hudd who just missed out on count back.

The Hudd family are clearly in a rich vein of form having won a Club Mixed competition the previous week.

The prizes were presented by lady captain Linda Lee who thanked all the visitors and members for supporting the competition particularly those who had travelled considerable distances to play. The green staff were complimented on the superb condition of the course and thanks were given to the members of the Ladies Section for their excellent contribution in running the competition.