TEEN Pierro Ruta, was one of the stars as Sully Sailing Club crowned the winners of the 2022 sailing season.

Pierro was victorious in the Roger Dykes Highest placed youth in the novice and youth regatta category.

The full list of winners is listed below.

Report supplied

With the sailing season opening, it was time to award the trophies for the 2022 season at Sully Sailing Club.

Despite the snow, the hardcore sailors turned out at the Sully Constitutional Club to receive their awards and to indulge in a buffet supper.

Prizes were awarded for the three series held during the year as well as for special events.

All are now fortified and ready to enjoy the balmy micro-climate of Sully Bay, as the 2023 dinghy racing season begins with the Early Bird Series.

List of winners for the 2022 season:

  • Commodore’s Cup Winner of the Round the Island Race: Danny Powell
  • Sharpe Trophy Winner: Andrew Evans
  • Regatta Trophy (Fast): Aran Pitter
  • Regatta Trophy (Slow): Nick Speller
  • Roger Dykes Highest placed youth in the novice and youth regatta: Pierro Ruta
  • Colin Lake Memorial Trophy Winner of the pursuit race: Danny Powell
  • Jubilee Trophy (2nd) Most launches for the year: Neil Brookes
  • Driftwood Fastest recorded time around Sully Island: Steve Marshall
  • Ken Hughes Most improved sailor: Danny Clugston
  • Sully Spoon Doing something silly: Robin Wilkinson
  • Centripump Cup Winner of slow fleet in the Centripump Cup race: Nick Speller
  • Laser Cup Highest placed Laser in the Laser Cup race: Danny Powell
  • Mirror Shield Highest places Mirror across all three series: Rex Henderson
  • Gusty Cup Highest placed Catamaran over all three series: Andrew Evans

The club say racing will continue every week either mornings or afternoon, depending on the tide and can be followed on the club website at https://sully-sailing.org.uk/

The website also has details on how to join the club if you would like to join this intrepid community.