Thousands take part as sun shines on 2023 ABP Barry Island 10K

Thousands of runners descended on Barry Island on Sunday for the 2023 ABP Barry Island 10K.

Over 3,200 runners had registered to take part across the 10K and junior races, with elite race wins from Lily Partridge, Shaun Antell and Ron Price.

Lily Partridge confidently took the women’s title and a new course record of 34:32. It was the Birchfield Harrier’s second victory of the summer, following a win at the Ogi Porthcawl 10K last month:

“I like coming to Wales to race and it was great to take another win,” said Partridge.

“The course was tough. I was warned it was hilly, but you can never be sure. It was a lovely route. I’ve never been to Barry before but it’s a great location and nice to be by the sea. There were loads of people out and all around the course so there was a really good atmosphere.”

In the men’s race it was Shaun Antell, runner up in the recent Ogi Porthcawl 10K who emerged victorious.

The Bideford AC athlete crossed the line in 30:46, ahead of Pontypridd Roadent Dan Hamilton (30:52) and 2022 ABP Barry Island 10K race winner Adam Bowden (31:03).

“I work as a postman and was out in the rain yesterday, so the sunshine was welcome – but the wind today was tough,” said Antell.

“It never felt like it was behind me, so I struggled to get into a rhythm. We had a good group at the start, Dan Hamilton took it on, so I had to try and stay with him. He was working me hard and forced the pace, but I eventually managed to get a gap and it was enough to win.

“The crowd really pushed me on. I’ve always wanted to run the ABP Barry Island 10K, so it was great to finally come and race. I’ll be back in Wales for the CDF 10K in September”.

Ron Price, a regular at Run 4 Wales races took the wheelchair title in a time of 47:24. 

Penarth Times: Thousands entered in glorious conditionsThousands entered in glorious conditions (Image: Run 4 Wales)

Penarth Times: The junior event also took placeThe junior event also took place (Image: Run 4 Wales)

The event was once again supported by headline sponsor Associated British Ports (ABP) with local children’s hospice Tŷ Hafan as lead charity. Many of the 10K runners, including Ross McCabe, who lost his brother Finn to a brain tumour in 2018, were fundraising to support their work providing care and comfort to children with life-limiting conditions and their families across Wales.

Helen Thomas, Head of Property for ABP’s Wales & Short Sea Ports commented: “ABP is really proud to be associated with such a positive event for Barry Island, and which plays an important role in supporting the incredible work of the Tŷ Hafan children’s hospice.”

Jenna Lewis, Director of Income Generation at Tŷ Hafan said: “This year’s ABP Barry Island 10K has been a resounding success for Tŷ Hafan Children’s Hospice and I would like to thank everyone in Barry and beyond who have supported this event in every capacity.

The event was organised by Run 4 Wales (R4W), the team behind the Principality Cardiff Half Marathon. It was the fourth of five 10K events organised by R4W in 2023, with the CDF 10K next up in the calendar and returning to the Welsh capital on Sunday 3 September.

R4W Chief Executive Matt Newman was delighted with the success of the race, saying: “Being born and raised in Barry, it’s always special seeing thousands of runners descend on the town for the ABP Barry Island 10K. The support today has been absolutely fantastic so it’s been a really enjoyable weekend.”

Results: Top five in elite races at Barry 10k

Elite men’s results

  1. Shaun Antell (Bideford AC) 30:46
  2. Dan Hamilton (Pontypridd Roadents) 30:52
  3. Adam Bowden (Bridgend AC) 31:03
  4. Paul Wylie (Western Tempo) 31:34
  5. Michael Roderick (Tri Hard Harriers) 32:34

Elite women’s results

  1. Lily Partridge (Birchfield Harriers) 34:32
  2. Olivia Tsim (Pontypridd Roadents) 37:18
  3. Donna Morris (Builth & District AC) 37:42
  4. Samantha Antell (Bideford AC) 38:17
  5. Naomi Sutton (Run4All Neath) 40:40

Elite wheelchair results

  1. Ron Price 47:24
  2. Les Hampton 58:10