Vale of Glamorgan Council elections 2012: Results

First published in

THE Conservatives lost control of the Vale of Glamorgan Council in yesterday’s election. Leader Gordon Kemp lost his seat in Rhoose, as did Tony Hampton in Barry and Anthony Ernest in Sully, where UKIP took their first Vale Council seat.

Labour do not have enough seats for an overall majority

The new make-up of the council is:

* Labour 22

* Conservatives 11

* Independents 7

* Plaid Cymru 6

* UKIP 1


BARUC (Barry)


BAKER Paul George, Conservative 512

EVANS Barrie, Independent 471

FOURACRE Dominic, Conservative 444

HODGES Nicholas, Plaid 776 (elected)

TRICKEY Michael, Labour 498

WILIAM Steffan, Plaid 800 (elected)


ALEXANDER Margaret, Labour 742 (elected)

BLAKEMAN Stephen, Plaid 388

BURLEY Thomas, Conservative 197

EGAN Stuart, Labour 690 (elected)

GREEN David, Independent 138

HARVEY Michael, Conservative 172

JOHNSON Ian, Plaid 420

CADOC (Barry)

BERTIN Rob, Independent 387

BRUCE Gillian, Conservative 450

BRYANT Martin, Plaid 289

BUMFORD Andrew, Plaid 271

BURNS Dawn, Plaid 259

DAVIES Lewis, Conservative 442

JOHNSON Fred, Labour 1108 (elected)

MOORE Anne, Labour 1143 (elected)

MOORE Neil, Labour 1105 (elected)

ROWLANDS Leighton, Conservative 422


DRAKE Pamela, Labour 683 (elected)

ELMORE Chris, Labour 718 (elected)

SHAW Barry, Plaid 377

STOCKDALE Keith, Plaid 347

TRAHERNE Sophie, Conservative 78

VIDAL Sadie, Conservative 83


BIRCH Rhiannon, Labour 796 (elected)

CHICK Damian, Liberal Democrats 64

FRASER John, Conservative 376

JAMES Luke, Plaid 308

KING Peter, Labour 698 (elected)

LEWIS Osian, Plaid 2822

TURNER Dorothy, Conservative 350

COURT (Barry)

BERTIN Richard, Independent 487 (elected)

BROOKS Bronwen, Labour 610 (elected)

KEMP Harriet, Conservative 116

KHAN Wahid, Plaid 93

LAWRENCE John, Plaid 136

MORRIS Brian, Labour 461

WIGNALL Jonathan, Conservative 89


BEAVEN Camilla, Labour 920

COX Geoffrey, Conservative 1334 (elected)

JARVIE Thomas, Conservative 1232 (elected)


PARKER Andrew, Conservative 1188 (elected)

STILL Alex, Labour 854


DAVIES Jill, Labour 602

DAVIES Terry, Labour 537

DRISCOLL Vince, Conservative 1122

FOXWELL Robert, Conservative 1035

FRANKS Christopher, Plaid 1515 (elected)

GILLIGAN Wendy, Labour 522

HARTREY Valerie, Plaid 1418 (elected)

HATTON Keith, Plaid 1265 (elected)

ROBERTSON Andrew, Conservative 970

STREETER Nigel, Conservative 1007

WILLIAMS Christopher, Plaid 1223 (elected)

WILLIAMS John, Labour 499

DYFAN (Barry)

COLLINS Amelia, Plaid 135

CURTIS Claire, Labour 839 (elected)

KEMP Katherine, Conservative 572

POWELL Anthony, Labour 755 (elected)

WILLIAMS Robert, Plaid 123

WRIGHT Marguerita, Conservative 618


BROWN Marilyn, Plaid 73

CURTIS Rob, Labour 787 (elected)

DAVIES Julia, Conservative 102

HARKUS Dennis, Independent 301

HEATHFIELD Jeffrey, Independent 300

HUGHES David, Conservative 105

ROSSER Ingrid, Plaid 76

WILKINSON Margaret, Labour 754 (elected)

ILLTYD (Barry)

BALL David, Plaid 267

CHARLES Janice, Conservative 612

DONOVAN John, Independent 545

DRYSDALE John, Labour 745 (elected)

HAMILTON Howard, Labour 883 (elected)

HAMPTON Tony, Conservative 639

HODGES Shirley Ann, Plaid 226

LONGSTAFF Kevin, Plaid 162

OSBORNE James, Independent 475

PROBERT Rhona, Labour 726 (elected)

WILLIAMS Emlyn, Conservative 599


EDMUNDS Kate, Labour 374 (elected)

GRAY Ben, Conservative 178

THOMAS Steven, Plaid 74


BELLIN Wynford, Plaid 193

SILVAN EVANS Jean, Labour 219

THOMAS Ray, Conservative 577 (elected)


AUSTIN Ralph, Conservative 759

BATCHELOR Matthew, Labour 471

BEECH Amy, Labour 502

CLIFFORD John, Conservative 813

DENMAN Katie, Labour 411

DOWNE Russell, Conservative 544

GANT Bob, Conservative 536

GEARY Keith, Llantwit First Independents 1327 (elected)

HACKER Eric, Llantwit First Independents 1603 (elected)

JOHN Gwyn, Llantwit First Independents 2068 (elected)

PRICE Graham, Labour 541

STEPHENS Dafydd, Plaid 269

WILLIAMS Edward, Llantwit First Independents 1490 (elected)


GILHOOLY Eileen, Labour 223

TRAHERNE Rhodri, Conservative 653 (elected)

PLYMOUTH (Penarth)

ALEXANDER Tracey, Labour 598

CLUBB Sandra, Plaid 202

ELLIS David, Liberal Democrats 153

JONES Marc, Plaid 202

KELLY OWEN Maureen, Conservative 939 (elected)

RAPIER Philip, Labour 547

WILLIAMS Clive, Conservative 939 (elected)


CLARKE Philip, Independent 882 (elected)

FAULKNER Damian, Labour 713

JAMES Jeff, Conservative 810 (elected)

KEMP Gordon Christopher, Conservative 727


THOMAS John, Conservative 435 (elected)

TOKER Sandra, Labour 311


APGLYN Niclas, Plaid 217

BURNETT Lis, Labour 887 (elected)

CHURCH Paul, Conservative 622

ROBERTS Gwyn, Labour 781 (elected)

SLAUGHTER Anthony, Green Party 280

WILLIAMS Sophie, Conservative 615

WILTON David, Plaid 193


BOWERS Eric, Labour 254

PRESTON Audrey, Conservative 480 (elected)

ROGERS Neil, Green Party 172

STANWELL (Penarth)

BIRCH Janice, Labour 666 (elected)

LLOYD Ken, Conservative 309

ROPER Adrian, Plaid 152

WILLIAMS Christopher, Conservative 294

WILSON Mark, Labour 651 (elected)


ERNEST Anthony, Conservative 342

HARDY Paula, Labour 330

MAHONEY Kevin, UKIP 633 (elected)

MIRZA-DAVIES Carolyn, Plaid 148

PENROSE Bob, Independent 876 (elected)

SHARPE Sarah, Conservative 342


BIRD Jonathan, Conservative 599 (elected)

NATARAJAN Kalpana, Labour 217

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree